Seed 1.8 vs Seed 2.0 Code

At a Glance

Compare
Seed 1.8ByteDance Seed
Seed 2.0 CodeByteDance Seed
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.50Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$3.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokensNot reportedNot reported
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldSeed 1.8Seed 2.0 Code
DeveloperByteDance SeedByteDance Seed
FamilySeed 1 8Seed 2 0
ModelSeed 1.8Seed 2.0 Code
VersionSeed 1.8Seed 2.0 Code
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2026-02-14
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context windowUnknownUnknown
Total parametersUnknownUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, reasoning, toolsagents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Seed 1.8 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDbytedance-seed/seed-1.8

Seed 2.0 Code Capabilities

agentschatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDbytedance-seed/seed-2.0-code

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Seed 1.8 vs Seed 2.0 Code FAQs

Is Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 1.8 and Seed 2.0 Code, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code?+

Only Seed 2.0 Code has a directly sourced input price: $0.50 per million tokens. Only Seed 2.0 Code has a directly sourced output price: $3.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 1.8 is — and Seed 2.0 Code is —.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Seed 1.8 is not marked open weight; Seed 2.0 Code is not marked open weight.

Can Seed 1.8 and Seed 2.0 Code understand images?+

Seed 1.8 is documented with image input; Seed 2.0 Code is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 1.8 is — and Seed 2.0 Code is —.

Do Seed 1.8 and Seed 2.0 Code support reasoning and tool use?+

Seed 1.8: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Seed 2.0 Code: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code?+

Seed 1.8 has 0 sourced provider routes; Seed 2.0 Code has 1, so Seed 2.0 Code has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Seed 1.8 or Seed 2.0 Code?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback