Seed 1.8 vs Kimi K2 Instruct

At a Glance

Compare
Seed 1.8ByteDance Seed
Kimi K2 InstructMoonshot AI
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.57Openrouter · Aug 29, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$2.30Openrouter · Aug 29, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokensNot reported131K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldSeed 1.8Kimi-K2-Instruct
DeveloperByteDance SeedMoonshot AI
FamilySeed 1 8Kimi K2 Instruct
ModelSeed 1.8Kimi-K2-Instruct
VersionSeed 1.8Kimi-K2-Instruct
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2025-07-11
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context windowUnknown131K
Total parametersUnknown1T
Active parametersUnknown32B
LicenseUnknownother
Open weightsNoYes
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoYes
Provider accessUnknownHugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, reasoning, toolschat, generation, tools

Seed 1.8 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDbytedance-seed/seed-1.8

Kimi K2 Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDmoonshotai/Kimi-K2-Instruct

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Seed 1.8 vs Kimi K2 Instruct FAQs

Is Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 1.8 and Kimi K2 Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct?+

Only Kimi K2 Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.57 per million tokens. Only Kimi K2 Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $2.30 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 1.8 is — and Kimi K2 Instruct is 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct be self-hosted?+

Kimi K2 Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 1.8 is not marked open weight; Kimi K2 Instruct is open weight.

Can Seed 1.8 and Kimi K2 Instruct understand images?+

Seed 1.8 is documented with image input; Kimi K2 Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 1.8 is — and Kimi K2 Instruct is —.

Do Seed 1.8 and Kimi K2 Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+

Seed 1.8: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Kimi K2 Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct?+

Seed 1.8 has 0 sourced provider routes; Kimi K2 Instruct has 2, so Kimi K2 Instruct has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Seed 1.8 or Kimi K2 Instruct?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback