Seed 1.8 vs gpt-oss-120b

At a Glance

Compare
Seed 1.8ByteDance Seed
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.037Deepinfra · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.17Deepinfra · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokensNot reported131K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldSeed 1.8gpt-oss-120b
DeveloperByteDance SeedOpenAI
FamilySeed 1 8Gpt Oss 120b
ModelSeed 1.8gpt-oss-120b
VersionSeed 1.8gpt-oss-120b
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknownUnknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context windowUnknown131K
Total parametersUnknown116.8B
Active parametersUnknown5.1B
LicenseUnknownapache-2.0
Open weightsNoYes
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoYes
Provider accessUnknownCerebras (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Serverless, Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, reasoning, toolschat, generation, reasoning, tools

Seed 1.8 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDbytedance-seed/seed-1.8

gpt-oss-120b Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers7
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-oss-120b

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Seed 1.8 vs gpt-oss-120b FAQs

Is Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 1.8 and gpt-oss-120b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b?+

Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced input price: $0.037 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced output price: $0.17 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 1.8 is — and gpt-oss-120b is 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b be self-hosted?+

gpt-oss-120b is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 1.8 is not marked open weight; gpt-oss-120b is open weight.

Can Seed 1.8 and gpt-oss-120b understand images?+

Seed 1.8 is documented with image input; gpt-oss-120b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 1.8 is — and gpt-oss-120b is —.

Do Seed 1.8 and gpt-oss-120b support reasoning and tool use?+

Seed 1.8: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. gpt-oss-120b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b?+

Seed 1.8 has 0 sourced provider routes; gpt-oss-120b has 7, so gpt-oss-120b has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Seed 1.8 or gpt-oss-120b?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback