Seed 1.8 vs DeepSeek V4 Flash
At a Glance
| Compare | Seed 1.8ByteDance Seed | DeepSeek V4 FlashDeepSeek |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.0868Openrouter ↗ · Aug 28, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.1736Openrouter ↗ · Aug 28, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 1,049K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Seed 1.8 | DeepSeek-V4-Flash |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | ByteDance Seed | DeepSeek |
| Family | Seed 1 8 | Deepseek V4 Flash |
| Model | Seed 1.8 | DeepSeek-V4-Flash |
| Version | Seed 1.8 | DeepSeek-V4-Flash |
| Lifecycle | active | retired |
| Released | Unknown | 2026-04-24 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 1,049K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 290.9B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 13B |
| License | Unknown | mit |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | DeepSeek (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, tools | chat, generation, reasoning |
Seed 1.8 Capabilities
DeepSeek V4 Flash Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Seed 1.8 vs DeepSeek V4 Flash FAQs
Is Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 1.8 and DeepSeek V4 Flash, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash?+
Only DeepSeek V4 Flash has a directly sourced input price: $0.0868 per million tokens. Only DeepSeek V4 Flash has a directly sourced output price: $0.1736 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 1.8 is — and DeepSeek V4 Flash is 1,049K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash be self-hosted?+
DeepSeek V4 Flash is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 1.8 is not marked open weight; DeepSeek V4 Flash is open weight.
Can Seed 1.8 and DeepSeek V4 Flash understand images?+
Seed 1.8 is documented with image input; DeepSeek V4 Flash is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 1.8 is — and DeepSeek V4 Flash is —.
Do Seed 1.8 and DeepSeek V4 Flash support reasoning and tool use?+
Seed 1.8: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. DeepSeek V4 Flash: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash?+
Seed 1.8 has 0 sourced provider routes; DeepSeek V4 Flash has 5, so DeepSeek V4 Flash has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Seed 1.8 or DeepSeek V4 Flash?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.