Qwen3 Coder Next Base vs Qwen3.8 Max
At a Glance
| Compare | Qwen3.8 MaxQwen | |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort | #10 of 4679.2 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 52.8–86.1 |
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort | #23 of 44$0.107 per LiveBench case |
| EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5 | UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort | #6 of 3863.2 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 50.0–66.7 |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $1.65Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $4.951Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 262K | 1,000K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Qwen3-Coder-Next-Base | Qwen3.8-Max |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Qwen | Qwen |
| Family | Qwen3 Coder Next Base | Qwen3 8 Max |
| Model | Qwen3-Coder-Next-Base | Qwen3.8-Max |
| Version | Qwen3-Coder-Next-Base | Qwen3.8-Max |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image, Video |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 262K | 1,000K |
| Total parameters | 79.7B | 2.4T |
| Active parameters | 3B | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Alibaba Cloud Model Studio (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | agents, chat, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools, vision |
Qwen3 Coder Next Base Capabilities
Qwen3.8 Max Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Qwen3 Coder Next Base vs Qwen3.8 Max FAQs
Is Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Qwen3 Coder Next Base and Qwen3.8 Max, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Only Qwen3.8 Max has a directly sourced input price: $1.65 per million tokens. Only Qwen3.8 Max has a directly sourced output price: $4.951 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Qwen3.8 Max has the larger sourced context window. Qwen3 Coder Next Base supports 262K and Qwen3.8 Max supports 1,000K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max be self-hosted?+
Qwen3 Coder Next Base is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Qwen3 Coder Next Base is open weight; Qwen3.8 Max is not marked open weight.
Can Qwen3 Coder Next Base and Qwen3.8 Max understand images?+
Qwen3 Coder Next Base is not documented with image input; Qwen3.8 Max is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Qwen3 Coder Next Base is — and Qwen3.8 Max is 131K.
Do Qwen3 Coder Next Base and Qwen3.8 Max support reasoning and tool use?+
Qwen3 Coder Next Base: tool calling. Qwen3.8 Max: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Qwen3 Coder Next Base has 0 sourced provider routes; Qwen3.8 Max has 4, so Qwen3.8 Max has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Qwen3 Coder Next Base or Qwen3.8 Max?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.