Pixtral Large vs Sonar Pro

At a Glance

Compare
Pixtral LargeMistral AI
Sonar ProPerplexity
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$3.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$15.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K200K
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldPixtral LargeSonar Pro
DeveloperMistral AIPerplexity
FamilyPixtral LargeSonar
ModelPixtral LargeSonar Pro
VersionPixtral LargeSonar Pro
Lifecycledeprecatedactive
Released2024-11-18Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, Image, DocumentText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K200K
Total parametersUnknownUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, visionchat, citations, search

Pixtral Large Capabilities

chatgenerationstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDmistralai/pixtral-large-2411

Sonar Pro Capabilities

chatcitationssearch
Serving providers2
Canonical IDperplexity/sonar-pro

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Pixtral Large vs Sonar Pro FAQs

Is Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Pixtral Large and Sonar Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro?+

Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced input price: $3.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced output price: $15.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro?+

Sonar Pro has the larger sourced context window. Pixtral Large supports 131K and Sonar Pro supports 200K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Pixtral Large is not marked open weight; Sonar Pro is not marked open weight.

Can Pixtral Large and Sonar Pro understand images?+

Pixtral Large is documented with image input; Sonar Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Pixtral Large is — and Sonar Pro is —.

Do Pixtral Large and Sonar Pro support reasoning and tool use?+

Pixtral Large: tool calling and image input. Sonar Pro: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro?+

Pixtral Large has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Pro has 2, so Sonar Pro has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Pixtral Large or Sonar Pro?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback