Pixtral Large vs GPT-5 Mini

At a Glance

Compare
Pixtral LargeMistral AI
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#45 of 460.0 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing LiveBench · full-core range 0.0–33.4
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.125Openrouter · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$1.00Openrouter · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K400K
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldPixtral LargeGPT-5 Mini
DeveloperMistral AIOpenAI
FamilyPixtral LargeGpt 5
ModelPixtral LargeGPT-5 Mini
VersionPixtral LargeGPT-5 Mini
Lifecycledeprecatedactive
Released2024-11-182025-08-07
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2024-05-31
Input modalitiesText, Image, DocumentText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K400K
Total parametersUnknownUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, visionchat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Pixtral Large Capabilities

chatgenerationstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDmistralai/pixtral-large-2411

GPT-5 Mini Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-5-mini

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Pixtral Large vs GPT-5 Mini FAQs

Is Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Pixtral Large and GPT-5 Mini, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini?+

Only GPT-5 Mini has a directly sourced input price: $0.125 per million tokens. Only GPT-5 Mini has a directly sourced output price: $1.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini?+

GPT-5 Mini has the larger sourced context window. Pixtral Large supports 131K and GPT-5 Mini supports 400K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Pixtral Large is not marked open weight; GPT-5 Mini is not marked open weight.

Can Pixtral Large and GPT-5 Mini understand images?+

Pixtral Large is documented with image input; GPT-5 Mini is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Pixtral Large is — and GPT-5 Mini is 128K.

Do Pixtral Large and GPT-5 Mini support reasoning and tool use?+

Pixtral Large: tool calling and image input. GPT-5 Mini: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini?+

Pixtral Large has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-5 Mini has 2, so GPT-5 Mini has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Pixtral Large or GPT-5 Mini?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback