Pixtral Large vs GPT-4o Mini

At a Glance

Compare
Pixtral LargeMistral AI
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.075Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.30Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K128K
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldPixtral LargeGPT-4o Mini
DeveloperMistral AIOpenAI
FamilyPixtral LargeGpt 4o
ModelPixtral LargeGPT-4o Mini
VersionPixtral LargeGPT-4o Mini
Lifecycledeprecatedactive
Released2024-11-18Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2023-10-01
Input modalitiesText, Image, DocumentText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K128K
Total parametersUnknownUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, visionchat, generation, tools

Pixtral Large Capabilities

chatgenerationstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDmistralai/pixtral-large-2411

GPT-4o Mini Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-4o-mini

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Pixtral Large vs GPT-4o Mini FAQs

Is Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Pixtral Large and GPT-4o Mini, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini?+

Only GPT-4o Mini has a directly sourced input price: $0.075 per million tokens. Only GPT-4o Mini has a directly sourced output price: $0.30 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini?+

Pixtral Large has the larger sourced context window. Pixtral Large supports 131K and GPT-4o Mini supports 128K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Pixtral Large is not marked open weight; GPT-4o Mini is not marked open weight.

Can Pixtral Large and GPT-4o Mini understand images?+

Pixtral Large is documented with image input; GPT-4o Mini is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Pixtral Large is — and GPT-4o Mini is 16K.

Do Pixtral Large and GPT-4o Mini support reasoning and tool use?+

Pixtral Large: tool calling and image input. GPT-4o Mini: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini?+

Pixtral Large has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-4o Mini has 2, so GPT-4o Mini has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Pixtral Large or GPT-4o Mini?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback