Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct vs GPT-4o
At a Glance
| Compare | Phi-4 Multimodal InstructMicrosoft | GPT-4oOpenAI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $1.25Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $5.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 128K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Phi-4-multimodal-instruct | GPT-4o |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Microsoft | OpenAI |
| Family | Phi 4 Multimodal Instruct | Gpt 4o |
| Model | Phi-4-multimodal-instruct | GPT-4o |
| Version | Phi-4-multimodal-instruct | GPT-4o |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2025-02-26 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | 2023-10-01 |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Audio | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 128K |
| Total parameters | 5.6B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | mit | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | chat, generation, tools |
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct Capabilities
GPT-4o Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct vs GPT-4o FAQs
Is Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct and GPT-4o, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o?+
Only GPT-4o has a directly sourced input price: $1.25 per million tokens. Only GPT-4o has a directly sourced output price: $5.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct has the larger sourced context window. Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct supports 131K and GPT-4o supports 128K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o be self-hosted?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is open weight; GPT-4o is not marked open weight.
Can Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct and GPT-4o understand images?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is documented with image input; GPT-4o is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is — and GPT-4o is 16K.
Do Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct and GPT-4o support reasoning and tool use?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct: image input. GPT-4o: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-4o has 2, so GPT-4o has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or GPT-4o?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.