Phi-4 Mini Instruct vs Qwen3 Coder Flash
At a Glance
| Compare | Phi-4 Mini InstructMicrosoft | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.195Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.975Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 1,000K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Phi-4-mini-instruct | Qwen3 Coder Flash |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Microsoft | Qwen |
| Family | Phi 4 Mini Instruct | Qwen3 Coder |
| Model | Phi-4-mini-instruct | Qwen3 Coder Flash |
| Version | Phi-4-mini-instruct | Qwen3 Coder Flash |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2025-02-26 | 2025-07-28 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 1,000K |
| Total parameters | 3.8B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | mit | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Hugging Face (Standard) | Alibaba Cloud Model Studio (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | agents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools |
Phi-4 Mini Instruct Capabilities
Qwen3 Coder Flash Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Phi-4 Mini Instruct vs Qwen3 Coder Flash FAQs
Is Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Phi-4 Mini Instruct and Qwen3 Coder Flash, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash?+
Only Qwen3 Coder Flash has a directly sourced input price: $0.195 per million tokens. Only Qwen3 Coder Flash has a directly sourced output price: $0.975 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash?+
Qwen3 Coder Flash has the larger sourced context window. Phi-4 Mini Instruct supports 131K and Qwen3 Coder Flash supports 1,000K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash be self-hosted?+
Phi-4 Mini Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Phi-4 Mini Instruct is open weight; Qwen3 Coder Flash is not marked open weight.
Can Phi-4 Mini Instruct and Qwen3 Coder Flash understand images?+
Phi-4 Mini Instruct is not documented with image input; Qwen3 Coder Flash is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Phi-4 Mini Instruct is — and Qwen3 Coder Flash is —.
Do Phi-4 Mini Instruct and Qwen3 Coder Flash support reasoning and tool use?+
Phi-4 Mini Instruct: none of these features are definitively sourced. Qwen3 Coder Flash: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash?+
Phi-4 Mini Instruct has 1 sourced provider route; Qwen3 Coder Flash has 2, so Qwen3 Coder Flash has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or Qwen3 Coder Flash?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.