Phi-4 Mini Instruct vs GPT-5.5 Pro

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$30.00Openai · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$180.00Openai · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K1,050K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldPhi-4-mini-instructGPT-5.5 Pro
DeveloperMicrosoftOpenAI
FamilyPhi 4 Mini InstructGpt 5 5
ModelPhi-4-mini-instructGPT-5.5 Pro
VersionPhi-4-mini-instructGPT-5.5 Pro
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2025-02-262026-04-23
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2025-12-01
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K1,050K
Total parameters3.8BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicensemitUnknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessHugging Face (Standard)Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generationchat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Phi-4 Mini Instruct Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmicrosoft/Phi-4-mini-instruct

GPT-5.5 Pro Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-5.5-pro

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Phi-4 Mini Instruct vs GPT-5.5 Pro FAQs

Is Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Phi-4 Mini Instruct and GPT-5.5 Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro?+

Only GPT-5.5 Pro has a directly sourced input price: $30.00 per million tokens. Only GPT-5.5 Pro has a directly sourced output price: $180.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro?+

GPT-5.5 Pro has the larger sourced context window. Phi-4 Mini Instruct supports 131K and GPT-5.5 Pro supports 1,050K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro be self-hosted?+

Phi-4 Mini Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Phi-4 Mini Instruct is open weight; GPT-5.5 Pro is not marked open weight.

Can Phi-4 Mini Instruct and GPT-5.5 Pro understand images?+

Phi-4 Mini Instruct is not documented with image input; GPT-5.5 Pro is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Phi-4 Mini Instruct is — and GPT-5.5 Pro is 128K.

Do Phi-4 Mini Instruct and GPT-5.5 Pro support reasoning and tool use?+

Phi-4 Mini Instruct: none of these features are definitively sourced. GPT-5.5 Pro: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro?+

Phi-4 Mini Instruct has 1 sourced provider route; GPT-5.5 Pro has 2, so GPT-5.5 Pro has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Phi-4 Mini Instruct or GPT-5.5 Pro?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback