Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.10Deepinfra · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.30Deepinfra · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens66K10,000K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
BenchmarkOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructLlama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct
LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-13-d25aabda0010 · arena_rating · leader1,311.83100% of row best · rating · olmo-3.1-32b-instruct; 95% CI [1305.66595265, 1318.00150818]; votes 11452; rank 2271,279.2998% of row best · rating · llama-4-scout-17b-16e-instruct; 95% CI [1274.57681953, 1284.00026285]; votes 29740; rank 259
Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above1 benchmark winNo overall winner0 benchmark winsNo overall winner

Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructLlama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct
DeveloperAi2Meta
FamilyOlmo 3 1 32b InstructLlama 4 Scout 17b 16e Instruct
ModelOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructLlama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct
VersionOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructLlama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2025-04-05
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window66K10,000K
Total parameters32.2B108.6B
Active parametersUnknown17B
Licenseapache-2.0other
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownDeepinfra (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation, tools

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers4
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct FAQs

Is Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct?+

Only Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.10 per million tokens. Only Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.30 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct?+

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct has the larger sourced context window. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct supports 66K and Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct supports 10,000K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is open weight; Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct is open weight.

Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct understand images?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is not documented with image input; Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is 33K and Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct is —.

Do Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct: tool calling. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct has 4, so Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Instruct?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback