Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct
At a Glance
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Sep 23, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.080Openrouter ↗ · Sep 23, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 66K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
| Benchmark | Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-13-d25aabda0010 · arena_rating · leader | 1,311.83100% of row best · rating · olmo-3.1-32b-instruct; 95% CI [1305.66595265, 1318.00150818]; votes 11452; rank 227 | 1,186.4890% of row best · rating · llama-3.1-8b-instruct; 95% CI [1182.38141125, 1190.58254982]; votes 49605; rank 313 |
| Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above | 1 benchmark winNo overall winner | 0 benchmark winsNo overall winner |
Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Ai2 | Meta |
| Family | Olmo 3 1 32b Instruct | Llama 3 1 8b Instruct |
| Model | Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Version | Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 66K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 32.2B | 8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | chat, generation, tools |
Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct Capabilities
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct FAQs
Is Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has the larger sourced context window. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct supports 66K and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct supports 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight.
Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct understand images?+
Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is not documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is 33K and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is —.
Do Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+
Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct: tool calling. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.