Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Claude Opus 4.5

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#27 of 4655.4 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 36.9–70.3
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#40 of 44$0.380 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#36 of 3838.0 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 28.8–45.4
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$5.00Anthropic · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$25.00Anthropic · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens66K200K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
BenchmarkOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Opus 4.5
LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-13-d25aabda0010 · arena_rating · leader1,311.8391% of row best · rating · olmo-3.1-32b-instruct; 95% CI [1305.66595265, 1318.00150818]; votes 11452; rank 2271,447.08100% of row best · rating · claude-opus-4-5-20251101-high-32k; 95% CI [1443.17965746, 1450.98398333]; votes 36239; rank 49
Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above0 benchmark winsNo overall winner1 benchmark winNo overall winner

Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Opus 4.5
DeveloperAi2Anthropic
FamilyOlmo 3 1 32b InstructClaude 4
ModelOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Opus 4.5
VersionOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Opus 4.5
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2025-11-24
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2025-05-01
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window66K200K
Total parameters32.2BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownAnthropic (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct

Claude Opus 4.5 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDanthropic/claude-opus-4-5

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Claude Opus 4.5 FAQs

Is Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Claude Opus 4.5, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5?+

Only Claude Opus 4.5 has a directly sourced input price: $5.00 per million tokens. Only Claude Opus 4.5 has a directly sourced output price: $25.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5?+

Claude Opus 4.5 has the larger sourced context window. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct supports 66K and Claude Opus 4.5 supports 200K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5 be self-hosted?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is open weight; Claude Opus 4.5 is not marked open weight.

Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Claude Opus 4.5 understand images?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is not documented with image input; Claude Opus 4.5 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5?+

Claude Opus 4.5 has the larger sourced maximum output: Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct supports 33K and Claude Opus 4.5 supports 64K output tokens.

Do Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Claude Opus 4.5 support reasoning and tool use?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct: tool calling. Claude Opus 4.5: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct has 0 sourced provider routes; Claude Opus 4.5 has 1, so Claude Opus 4.5 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Opus 4.5?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback