Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Claude Haiku 4.5

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#43 of 469.0 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing LiveBench · full-core range 6.0–39.3
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$1.00Anthropic · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$5.00Anthropic · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens66K200K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
BenchmarkOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Haiku 4.5
LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-13-d25aabda0010 · arena_rating · leader1,311.8394% of row best · rating · olmo-3.1-32b-instruct; 95% CI [1305.66595265, 1318.00150818]; votes 11452; rank 2271,396.64100% of row best · rating · claude-haiku-4-5-20251001; 95% CI [1394.12644647, 1399.14715328]; votes 129278; rank 147
Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above0 benchmark winsNo overall winner1 benchmark winNo overall winner

Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Haiku 4.5
DeveloperAi2Anthropic
FamilyOlmo 3 1 32b InstructClaude 4 5
ModelOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Haiku 4.5
VersionOlmo-3.1-32B-InstructClaude Haiku 4.5
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2025-10-15
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window66K200K
Total parameters32.2BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownAnthropic (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation, reasoning, tools

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Olmo-3.1-32B-Instruct

Claude Haiku 4.5 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDanthropic/claude-haiku-4-5

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct vs Claude Haiku 4.5 FAQs

Is Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Claude Haiku 4.5, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5?+

Only Claude Haiku 4.5 has a directly sourced input price: $1.00 per million tokens. Only Claude Haiku 4.5 has a directly sourced output price: $5.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5?+

Claude Haiku 4.5 has the larger sourced context window. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct supports 66K and Claude Haiku 4.5 supports 200K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5 be self-hosted?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is open weight; Claude Haiku 4.5 is not marked open weight.

Can Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Claude Haiku 4.5 understand images?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct is not documented with image input; Claude Haiku 4.5 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5?+

Claude Haiku 4.5 has the larger sourced maximum output: Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct supports 33K and Claude Haiku 4.5 supports 64K output tokens.

Do Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct and Claude Haiku 4.5 support reasoning and tool use?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct: tool calling. Claude Haiku 4.5: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5?+

Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct has 0 sourced provider routes; Claude Haiku 4.5 has 2, so Claude Haiku 4.5 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct or Claude Haiku 4.5?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback