MolmoWeb 8B vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.050Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.080Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens10K131K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmoWeb 8BLlama-3.1-8B-Instruct
DeveloperAi2Meta
FamilyMolmowebLlama 3 1 8b Instruct
ModelMolmoWeb 8BLlama-3.1-8B-Instruct
VersionMolmoWeb 8BLlama-3.1-8B-Instruct
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-03-202024-07-23
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window10K131K
Total parameters8.7B8B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0llama3.1
Open weightsYesYes
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownHugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, computer-use, generation, tools, visionchat, generation, tools

MolmoWeb 8B Capabilities

chatcomputer-usegenerationtoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/MolmoWeb-8B

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MolmoWeb 8B vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct FAQs

Is MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoWeb 8B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+

Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has the larger sourced context window. MolmoWeb 8B supports 10K and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MolmoWeb 8B is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight.

Can MolmoWeb 8B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct understand images?+

MolmoWeb 8B is documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoWeb 8B is — and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is —.

Do MolmoWeb 8B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+

MolmoWeb 8B: tool calling and image input. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+

MolmoWeb 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MolmoWeb 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback