MolmoWeb 8B vs Grok Build 0.1

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#1 of 44$0.0020 per LiveBench case
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$1.00Xai · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$2.00Xai · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens10K256K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmoWeb 8BGrok Build 0.1
DeveloperAi2xAI
FamilyMolmowebGrok Build
ModelMolmoWeb 8BGrok Build 0.1
VersionMolmoWeb 8BGrok Build 0.1
Lifecycleactivepreview
Released2026-03-202026-05-29
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window10K256K
Total parameters8.7BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownXai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, computer-use, generation, tools, visionchat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

MolmoWeb 8B Capabilities

chatcomputer-usegenerationtoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/MolmoWeb-8B

Grok Build 0.1 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDxai/grok-build-0.1

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MolmoWeb 8B vs Grok Build 0.1 FAQs

Is MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoWeb 8B and Grok Build 0.1, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1?+

Only Grok Build 0.1 has a directly sourced input price: $1.00 per million tokens. Only Grok Build 0.1 has a directly sourced output price: $2.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1?+

Grok Build 0.1 has the larger sourced context window. MolmoWeb 8B supports 10K and Grok Build 0.1 supports 256K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1 be self-hosted?+

MolmoWeb 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. MolmoWeb 8B is open weight; Grok Build 0.1 is not marked open weight.

Can MolmoWeb 8B and Grok Build 0.1 understand images?+

MolmoWeb 8B is documented with image input; Grok Build 0.1 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoWeb 8B is — and Grok Build 0.1 is —.

Do MolmoWeb 8B and Grok Build 0.1 support reasoning and tool use?+

MolmoWeb 8B: tool calling and image input. Grok Build 0.1: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1?+

MolmoWeb 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Grok Build 0.1 has 1, so Grok Build 0.1 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MolmoWeb 8B or Grok Build 0.1?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback