MolmoWeb 8B vs gpt-oss-120b

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.037Deepinfra · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.17Deepinfra · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens10K131K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmoWeb 8Bgpt-oss-120b
DeveloperAi2OpenAI
FamilyMolmowebGpt Oss 120b
ModelMolmoWeb 8Bgpt-oss-120b
VersionMolmoWeb 8Bgpt-oss-120b
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-03-20Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window10K131K
Total parameters8.7B116.8B
Active parametersUnknown5.1B
Licenseapache-2.0apache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownCerebras (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Serverless, Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard)
Capabilitieschat, computer-use, generation, tools, visionchat, generation, reasoning, tools

MolmoWeb 8B Capabilities

chatcomputer-usegenerationtoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/MolmoWeb-8B

gpt-oss-120b Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers7
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-oss-120b

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MolmoWeb 8B vs gpt-oss-120b FAQs

Is MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoWeb 8B and gpt-oss-120b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+

Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced input price: $0.037 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced output price: $0.17 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+

gpt-oss-120b has the larger sourced context window. MolmoWeb 8B supports 10K and gpt-oss-120b supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MolmoWeb 8B is open weight; gpt-oss-120b is open weight.

Can MolmoWeb 8B and gpt-oss-120b understand images?+

MolmoWeb 8B is documented with image input; gpt-oss-120b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoWeb 8B is — and gpt-oss-120b is —.

Do MolmoWeb 8B and gpt-oss-120b support reasoning and tool use?+

MolmoWeb 8B: tool calling and image input. gpt-oss-120b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+

MolmoWeb 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; gpt-oss-120b has 7, so gpt-oss-120b has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MolmoWeb 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback