MolmoAct 2 vs GPT-Image 2.5 Flare
At a Glance
| Compare | MolmoAct 2Ai2 | GPT-Image 2.5 FlareOpenAI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | Not reported |
| Model facts checked | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 9, 2026View model evidence → |
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | MolmoAct 2 | GPT-Image-2.5 Flare |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Ai2 | OpenAI |
| Family | MolmoAct 2 | Gpt Image 2 5 |
| Model | MolmoAct 2 | GPT-Image-2.5 Flare |
| Version | 2 | GPT-Image-2.5 Flare |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-05-05 | 2026-09-08 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Robot state | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Robot action | Image |
| Context window | Unknown | Unknown |
| Total parameters | 5B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | Unknown |
| API available | No | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Unknown |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openai (Standard) |
| Capabilities | action-reasoning, bimanual-manipulation, depth-reasoning, fine-tuning | image-editing, image-generation, inpainting |
| Default usage-tier rate limits | Unknown | Tier 1: 100,000 TPM, 5 IPM, Tier 2: 250,000 TPM, 20 IPM, Tier 3: 800,000 TPM, 50 IPM, Tier 4: 3,000,000 TPM, 150 IPM, Tier 5: 8,000,000 TPM, 250 IPM |
| Default snapshot | Unknown | gpt-image-2.5-flare-2026-09-08 |
| Model positioning | Unknown | Fast, high-quality everyday image generation |
| Quality settings | Unknown | low, medium, high, xhigh, max, auto |
| Supported API routes | Unknown | v1/images/generations, v1/images/edits |
| Unsupported API routes | Unknown | v1/assistants, v1/audio/speech, v1/audio/transcriptions, v1/audio/translations, v1/batch, v1/chat/completions, v1/completions, v1/embeddings, v1/fine-tuning, v1/moderations, v1/realtime, v1/realtime/transcription_sessions, v1/realtime/translations, v1/responses, v1/videos |
| Robotics model type | Action reasoning model | Unknown |
| Action representation | Flow-matching continuous action expert | Unknown |
| Control architecture | Molmo 2-ER backbone with KV-cache bridge and action expert | Unknown |
| Inference location | Flexible | Unknown |
| Native control rate (Hz) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Supported embodiments | SO-100, SO-101, Franka, WidowX, bimanual YAM | Unknown |
| Training data | Open bimanual YAM, SO-100/SO-101, DROID, BC-Z, Fractal, Bridge, and prior MolmoAct data described by Ai2. | Unknown |
MolmoAct 2 Capabilities
GPT-Image 2.5 Flare Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
MolmoAct 2 vs GPT-Image 2.5 Flare FAQs
Is MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoAct 2 and GPT-Image 2.5 Flare, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare?+
Only GPT-Image 2.5 Flare has a directly sourced input price: $5.00 per million tokens. Only GPT-Image 2.5 Flare has a directly sourced output price: $30.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. MolmoAct 2 is — and GPT-Image 2.5 Flare is —.
Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare be self-hosted?+
MolmoAct 2 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. MolmoAct 2 is open weight; GPT-Image 2.5 Flare is of unknown open-weight status.
Can MolmoAct 2 and GPT-Image 2.5 Flare understand images?+
MolmoAct 2 is documented with image input; GPT-Image 2.5 Flare is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoAct 2 is — and GPT-Image 2.5 Flare is —.
Do MolmoAct 2 and GPT-Image 2.5 Flare support reasoning and tool use?+
MolmoAct 2: reasoning and image input. GPT-Image 2.5 Flare: image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare?+
MolmoAct 2 has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-Image 2.5 Flare has 1, so GPT-Image 2.5 Flare has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, MolmoAct 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Flare?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.