MolmoAct2 Think vs DeepSeek R1
At a Glance
| Compare | DeepSeek R1DeepSeek | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.70Openrouter ↗ · Aug 28, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.50Openrouter ↗ · Aug 28, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 16K | 164K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | MolmoAct2-Think | DeepSeek-R1 |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Ai2 | DeepSeek |
| Family | Molmoact2 Think | Deepseek R1 |
| Model | MolmoAct2-Think | DeepSeek-R1 |
| Version | MolmoAct2-Think | DeepSeek-R1 |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | 2025-01-20 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Model-specific input | Text |
| Output modalities | Model-specific input | Text |
| Context window | 16K | 164K |
| Total parameters | 5.4B | 684.5B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 37B |
| License | Unknown | mit |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | reasoning, robot_action_generation | chat, generation, reasoning |
MolmoAct2 Think Capabilities
DeepSeek R1 Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
MolmoAct2 Think vs DeepSeek R1 FAQs
Is MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1 better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoAct2 Think and DeepSeek R1, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1?+
Only DeepSeek R1 has a directly sourced input price: $0.70 per million tokens. Only DeepSeek R1 has a directly sourced output price: $2.50 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1?+
DeepSeek R1 has the larger sourced context window. MolmoAct2 Think supports 16K and DeepSeek R1 supports 164K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1 be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MolmoAct2 Think is open weight; DeepSeek R1 is open weight.
Can MolmoAct2 Think and DeepSeek R1 understand images?+
MolmoAct2 Think is not documented with image input; DeepSeek R1 is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoAct2 Think is — and DeepSeek R1 is 33K.
Do MolmoAct2 Think and DeepSeek R1 support reasoning and tool use?+
MolmoAct2 Think: reasoning. DeepSeek R1: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1?+
MolmoAct2 Think has 0 sourced provider routes; DeepSeek R1 has 2, so DeepSeek R1 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, MolmoAct2 Think or DeepSeek R1?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.