MiniMax Music3 vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct
At a Glance
| Compare | MiniMax Music3MiniMax | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.080Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 5K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | MiniMax-Music3 | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | MiniMax | Meta |
| Family | Minimax Music3 | Llama 3 1 8b Instruct |
| Model | MiniMax-Music3 | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Version | MiniMax-Music3 | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-08-13 | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Audio | Text |
| Context window | 5K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 2.4B | 8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | generation | chat, generation, tools |
MiniMax Music3 Capabilities
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
MiniMax Music3 vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct FAQs
Is MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MiniMax Music3 and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has the larger sourced context window. MiniMax Music3 supports 5K and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct supports 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MiniMax Music3 is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight.
Can MiniMax Music3 and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct understand images?+
MiniMax Music3 is not documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MiniMax Music3 is — and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is —.
Do MiniMax Music3 and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+
MiniMax Music3: none of these features are definitively sourced. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
MiniMax Music3 has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, MiniMax Music3 or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.