MiniMax M2.5 vs Llama 3.1 8B

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.27Openrouter · Aug 28, 2026Not reported
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$1.08Openrouter · Aug 28, 2026Not reported
Context windowMaximum documented tokens197K131K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMiniMax-M2.5Llama-3.1-8B
DeveloperMiniMaxMeta
FamilyMinimax M2 5Llama 3 1 8b
ModelMiniMax-M2.5Llama-3.1-8B
VersionMiniMax-M2.5Llama-3.1-8B
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-02-122024-07-23
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window197K131K
Total parameters228.7B8B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseotherllama3.1
Open weightsYesYes
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessHugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)Hugging Face (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolsgeneration

MiniMax M2.5 Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDMiniMaxAI/MiniMax-M2.5

Llama 3.1 8B Capabilities

generation
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-8B

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MiniMax M2.5 vs Llama 3.1 8B FAQs

Is MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MiniMax M2.5 and Llama 3.1 8B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B?+

Only MiniMax M2.5 has a directly sourced input price: $0.27 per million tokens. Only MiniMax M2.5 has a directly sourced output price: $1.08 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B?+

MiniMax M2.5 has the larger sourced context window. MiniMax M2.5 supports 197K and Llama 3.1 8B supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MiniMax M2.5 is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B is open weight.

Can MiniMax M2.5 and Llama 3.1 8B understand images?+

MiniMax M2.5 is not documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MiniMax M2.5 is — and Llama 3.1 8B is —.

Do MiniMax M2.5 and Llama 3.1 8B support reasoning and tool use?+

MiniMax M2.5: tool calling. Llama 3.1 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B?+

MiniMax M2.5 has 2 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 8B has 1, so MiniMax M2.5 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MiniMax M2.5 or Llama 3.1 8B?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback