MiniMax M2.5 vs Bonsai 1.7B

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.27Openrouter · Aug 28, 2026Not reported
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$1.08Openrouter · Aug 28, 2026Not reported
Context windowMaximum documented tokens197K33K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 18, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMiniMax-M2.5Bonsai 1.7B
DeveloperMiniMaxPrismML
FamilyMinimax M2 5Bonsai 1 7b
ModelMiniMax-M2.5Bonsai 1.7B
VersionMiniMax-M2.5Bonsai 1.7B
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-02-122026-03-29
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window197K33K
Total parameters228.7B1.7B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseotherapache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableYesNo
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessHugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)Unknown
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation
Effective bit widthUnknown1 bit per weight
Weight sizeUnknown0.25 GB
Weight formatUnknownBinary Q1_0

MiniMax M2.5 Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDMiniMaxAI/MiniMax-M2.5

Bonsai 1.7B Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDprism-ml/Bonsai-1.7B

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MiniMax M2.5 vs Bonsai 1.7B FAQs

Is MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MiniMax M2.5 and Bonsai 1.7B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B?+

Only MiniMax M2.5 has a directly sourced input price: $0.27 per million tokens. Only MiniMax M2.5 has a directly sourced output price: $1.08 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B?+

MiniMax M2.5 has the larger sourced context window. MiniMax M2.5 supports 197K and Bonsai 1.7B supports 33K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MiniMax M2.5 is open weight; Bonsai 1.7B is open weight.

Can MiniMax M2.5 and Bonsai 1.7B understand images?+

MiniMax M2.5 is not documented with image input; Bonsai 1.7B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MiniMax M2.5 is — and Bonsai 1.7B is —.

Do MiniMax M2.5 and Bonsai 1.7B support reasoning and tool use?+

MiniMax M2.5: tool calling. Bonsai 1.7B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B?+

MiniMax M2.5 has 2 sourced provider routes; Bonsai 1.7B has 0, so MiniMax M2.5 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MiniMax M2.5 or Bonsai 1.7B?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback