MAI Transcribe 2 vs Sonar Pro
At a Glance
| Compare | MAI Transcribe 2Microsoft | Sonar ProPerplexity |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $3.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $15.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 200K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | MAI-Transcribe 2 | Sonar Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Microsoft | Perplexity |
| Family | Mai Transcribe | Sonar |
| Model | MAI-Transcribe 2 | Sonar Pro |
| Version | MAI-Transcribe 2 | Sonar Pro |
| Lifecycle | preview | active |
| Released | 2026-09-03 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Audio | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 200K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | Unknown |
| Open weights | No | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Unknown | No |
| Provider access | Microsoft Foundry (Public preview) | Openrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard) |
| Capabilities | diarization, multilingual, speaker-attribution, transcription, word-level-timestamps | chat, citations, search |
MAI Transcribe 2 Capabilities
Sonar Pro Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
MAI Transcribe 2 vs Sonar Pro FAQs
Is MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MAI Transcribe 2 and Sonar Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro?+
Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced input price: $3.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced output price: $15.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. MAI Transcribe 2 is — and Sonar Pro is 200K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro be self-hosted?+
Neither model is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. MAI Transcribe 2 is not marked open weight; Sonar Pro is not marked open weight.
Can MAI Transcribe 2 and Sonar Pro understand images?+
MAI Transcribe 2 is not documented with image input; Sonar Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MAI Transcribe 2 is — and Sonar Pro is —.
Do MAI Transcribe 2 and Sonar Pro support reasoning and tool use?+
MAI Transcribe 2: none of these features are definitively sourced. Sonar Pro: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro?+
MAI Transcribe 2 has 1 sourced provider route; Sonar Pro has 2, so Sonar Pro has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, MAI Transcribe 2 or Sonar Pro?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.