MAI Transcribe 2 vs phi-4
At a Glance
| Compare | MAI Transcribe 2Microsoft | phi-4Microsoft |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.070Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.14Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 16K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | MAI-Transcribe 2 | phi-4 |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Microsoft | Microsoft |
| Family | Mai Transcribe | Phi 4 |
| Model | MAI-Transcribe 2 | phi-4 |
| Version | MAI-Transcribe 2 | phi-4 |
| Lifecycle | preview | active |
| Released | 2026-09-03 | 2024-12-12 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Audio | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 16K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 14.7B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | mit |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Unknown | Yes |
| Provider access | Microsoft Foundry (Public preview) | Deepinfra (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | diarization, multilingual, speaker-attribution, transcription, word-level-timestamps | chat, generation |
MAI Transcribe 2 Capabilities
phi-4 Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
MAI Transcribe 2 vs phi-4 FAQs
Is MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4 better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MAI Transcribe 2 and phi-4, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4?+
Only phi-4 has a directly sourced input price: $0.070 per million tokens. Only phi-4 has a directly sourced output price: $0.14 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. MAI Transcribe 2 is — and phi-4 is 16K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4 be self-hosted?+
phi-4 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. MAI Transcribe 2 is not marked open weight; phi-4 is open weight.
Can MAI Transcribe 2 and phi-4 understand images?+
MAI Transcribe 2 is not documented with image input; phi-4 is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MAI Transcribe 2 is — and phi-4 is —.
Do MAI Transcribe 2 and phi-4 support reasoning and tool use?+
MAI Transcribe 2: none of these features are definitively sourced. phi-4: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4?+
MAI Transcribe 2 has 1 sourced provider route; phi-4 has 3, so phi-4 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, MAI Transcribe 2 or phi-4?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.