Llama 3.1 8B Instruct vs Pixtral Large
At a Glance
| Compare | Pixtral LargeMistral AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.080Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct | Pixtral Large |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | Mistral AI |
| Family | Llama 3 1 8b Instruct | Pixtral Large |
| Model | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct | Pixtral Large |
| Version | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct | Pixtral Large |
| Lifecycle | active | deprecated |
| Released | 2024-07-23 | 2024-11-18 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image, Document |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 8B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | llama3.1 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | No |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) | Unknown |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | chat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, vision |
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities
Pixtral Large Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct vs Pixtral Large FAQs
Is Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and Pixtral Large, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large?+
Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is 131K and Pixtral Large is 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large be self-hosted?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight; Pixtral Large is not marked open weight.
Can Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and Pixtral Large understand images?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input; Pixtral Large is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is — and Pixtral Large is —.
Do Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and Pixtral Large support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Pixtral Large: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2 sourced provider routes; Pixtral Large has 0, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Pixtral Large?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.