Llama 3.1 8B Instruct vs Muse Spark 1.2

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.050Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026Not reported
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.080Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026Not reported
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131KNot reported
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
BenchmarkLlama-3.1-8B-InstructMuse Spark 1.2
LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-13-d25aabda0010 · arena_rating · leader1,186.4880% of row best · rating · llama-3.1-8b-instruct; 95% CI [1182.38141125, 1190.58254982]; votes 49605; rank 3131,489.44100% of row best · rating · muse-spark-1.2 (xHigh); 95% CI [1478.95697715, 1499.92080617]; votes 3227; rank 11
Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above0 benchmark winsNo overall winner1 benchmark winNo overall winner

Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldLlama-3.1-8B-InstructMuse Spark 1.2
DeveloperMetaMeta
FamilyLlama 3 1 8b InstructMuse Spark
ModelLlama-3.1-8B-InstructMuse Spark 1.2
VersionLlama-3.1-8B-InstructMuse Spark 1.2
Lifecycleactivepreview
Released2024-07-232026-08-05
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image, Video, Audio
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131KUnknown
Total parameters8BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licensellama3.1Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessHugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)Unknown
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, computer-use, generation, reasoning, research, structured_outputs, tools

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct

Muse Spark 1.2 Capabilities

chatcomputer-usegenerationreasoningresearchstructured outputstools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDmeta-llama/muse-spark-1.2

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct vs Muse Spark 1.2 FAQs

Is Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and Muse Spark 1.2, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2?+

Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is 131K and Muse Spark 1.2 is —.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2 be self-hosted?+

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight; Muse Spark 1.2 is not marked open weight.

Can Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and Muse Spark 1.2 understand images?+

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input; Muse Spark 1.2 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is — and Muse Spark 1.2 is —.

Do Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and Muse Spark 1.2 support reasoning and tool use?+

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Muse Spark 1.2: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2?+

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2 sourced provider routes; Muse Spark 1.2 has 0, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or Muse Spark 1.2?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback