Llama 3.1 70B Instruct vs Llama 3.1 8B
At a Glance
| Compare | Llama 3.1 8BMeta | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.40Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.40Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-3.1-70B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | Meta |
| Family | Llama 3 1 70b Instruct | Llama 3 1 8b |
| Model | Llama-3.1-70B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B |
| Version | Llama-3.1-70B-Instruct | Llama-3.1-8B |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2024-07-23 | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 70.6B | 8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | llama3.1 | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Openrouter (Standard) | Hugging Face (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | generation |
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct Capabilities
Llama 3.1 8B Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct vs Llama 3.1 8B FAQs
Is Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 70B Instruct and Llama 3.1 8B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Only Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.40 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.40 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is 131K and Llama 3.1 8B is 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B is open weight.
Can Llama 3.1 70B Instruct and Llama 3.1 8B understand images?+
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is not documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is — and Llama 3.1 8B is —.
Do Llama 3.1 70B Instruct and Llama 3.1 8B support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct: tool calling. Llama 3.1 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has 1 sourced provider route; Llama 3.1 8B has 1, a tie.
Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Llama 3.1 8B?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.