Granite Vision 4.1 4B vs Inkling

At a Glance

Compare
InklingThinking Machines Lab
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#34 of 4645.4 score · 3/3 sources · complete
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#18 of 44$0.090 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#28 of 3848.1 score · 3/3 sources · complete
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.95Deepinfra · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$4.05Deepinfra · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K1,049K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

Fieldgranite-vision-4.1-4bInkling
DeveloperIBMThinking Machines Lab
FamilyGranite Vision 4 1 4bInkling
Modelgranite-vision-4.1-4bInkling
Versiongranite-vision-4.1-4bInkling
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-04-292026-07-15
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText, Image, Video, Audio
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K1,049K
Total parameters4B975B
Active parametersUnknown41B
Licenseapache-2.0apache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownDeepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolsagents, chat, coding, generation, reasoning, tools, vision

Granite Vision 4.1 4B Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDibm-granite/granite-vision-4.1-4b

Inkling Capabilities

agentschatcodinggenerationreasoningtoolsvision
Serving providers4
Canonical IDthinkingmachines/Inkling

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Granite Vision 4.1 4B vs Inkling FAQs

Is Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite Vision 4.1 4B and Inkling, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling?+

Only Inkling has a directly sourced input price: $0.95 per million tokens. Only Inkling has a directly sourced output price: $4.05 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling?+

Inkling has the larger sourced context window. Granite Vision 4.1 4B supports 131K and Inkling supports 1,049K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Granite Vision 4.1 4B is open weight; Inkling is open weight.

Can Granite Vision 4.1 4B and Inkling understand images?+

Granite Vision 4.1 4B is documented with image input; Inkling is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Granite Vision 4.1 4B is — and Inkling is —.

Do Granite Vision 4.1 4B and Inkling support reasoning and tool use?+

Granite Vision 4.1 4B: tool calling and image input. Inkling: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling?+

Granite Vision 4.1 4B has 0 sourced provider routes; Inkling has 4, so Inkling has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or Inkling?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback