Granite Guardian 4.1 8B vs Inkling

At a Glance

Compare
InklingThinking Machines Lab
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#34 of 4645.4 score · 3/3 sources · complete
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#18 of 44$0.090 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#28 of 3848.1 score · 3/3 sources · complete
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.95Deepinfra · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$4.05Deepinfra · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K1,049K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

Fieldgranite-guardian-4.1-8bInkling
DeveloperIBMThinking Machines Lab
FamilyGranite Guardian 4 1 8bInkling
Modelgranite-guardian-4.1-8bInkling
Versiongranite-guardian-4.1-8bInkling
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2026-07-15
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image, Video, Audio
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K1,049K
Total parameters8.4B975B
Active parametersUnknown41B
Licenseapache-2.0apache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownDeepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolsagents, chat, coding, generation, reasoning, tools, vision

Granite Guardian 4.1 8B Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDibm-granite/granite-guardian-4.1-8b

Inkling Capabilities

agentschatcodinggenerationreasoningtoolsvision
Serving providers4
Canonical IDthinkingmachines/Inkling

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Granite Guardian 4.1 8B vs Inkling FAQs

Is Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite Guardian 4.1 8B and Inkling, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling?+

Only Inkling has a directly sourced input price: $0.95 per million tokens. Only Inkling has a directly sourced output price: $4.05 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling?+

Inkling has the larger sourced context window. Granite Guardian 4.1 8B supports 131K and Inkling supports 1,049K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Granite Guardian 4.1 8B is open weight; Inkling is open weight.

Can Granite Guardian 4.1 8B and Inkling understand images?+

Granite Guardian 4.1 8B is not documented with image input; Inkling is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Granite Guardian 4.1 8B is — and Inkling is —.

Do Granite Guardian 4.1 8B and Inkling support reasoning and tool use?+

Granite Guardian 4.1 8B: tool calling. Inkling: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling?+

Granite Guardian 4.1 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Inkling has 4, so Inkling has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Granite Guardian 4.1 8B or Inkling?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback