Granite 4.1 3B vs Qwen3 Coder Plus

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.65Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$3.25Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K1,000K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

Fieldgranite-4.1-3bQwen3 Coder Plus
DeveloperIBMQwen
FamilyGranite 4 1 3bQwen3 Coder
Modelgranite-4.1-3bQwen3 Coder Plus
Versiongranite-4.1-3bQwen3 Coder Plus
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-04-292025-09-23
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K1,000K
Total parameters3.4BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownAlibaba Cloud Model Studio (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolsagents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Granite 4.1 3B Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDibm-granite/granite-4.1-3b

Qwen3 Coder Plus Capabilities

agentschatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDqwen/qwen3-coder-plus

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Granite 4.1 3B vs Qwen3 Coder Plus FAQs

Is Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite 4.1 3B and Qwen3 Coder Plus, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+

Only Qwen3 Coder Plus has a directly sourced input price: $0.65 per million tokens. Only Qwen3 Coder Plus has a directly sourced output price: $3.25 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+

Qwen3 Coder Plus has the larger sourced context window. Granite 4.1 3B supports 131K and Qwen3 Coder Plus supports 1,000K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus be self-hosted?+

Granite 4.1 3B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Granite 4.1 3B is open weight; Qwen3 Coder Plus is not marked open weight.

Can Granite 4.1 3B and Qwen3 Coder Plus understand images?+

Granite 4.1 3B is not documented with image input; Qwen3 Coder Plus is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Granite 4.1 3B is — and Qwen3 Coder Plus is —.

Do Granite 4.1 3B and Qwen3 Coder Plus support reasoning and tool use?+

Granite 4.1 3B: tool calling. Qwen3 Coder Plus: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+

Granite 4.1 3B has 0 sourced provider routes; Qwen3 Coder Plus has 2, so Qwen3 Coder Plus has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Granite 4.1 3B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback