Granite 4.1 3B vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct
At a Glance
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Oct 19, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.080Openrouter ↗ · Oct 19, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | granite-4.1-3b | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | IBM | Meta |
| Family | Granite 4 1 3b | Llama 3 1 8b Instruct |
| Model | granite-4.1-3b | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Version | granite-4.1-3b | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-04-29 | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 3.4B | 8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | chat, generation, tools |
Granite 4.1 3B Capabilities
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Granite 4.1 3B vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct FAQs
Is Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite 4.1 3B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Both models have the same sourced context window: 131,072 tokens each.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same sourced self-hosting status: supported. Granite 4.1 3B is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight.
Can Granite 4.1 3B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct understand images?+
Granite 4.1 3B is not documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Neither model has a sourced maximum output in this comparison, so a larger limit cannot be determined.
Do Granite 4.1 3B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+
Granite 4.1 3B: tool calling. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Granite 4.1 3B has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Granite 4.1 3B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.