Gemma 4 12B vs Qwen3 Coder Plus
At a Glance
| Compare | Gemma 4 12BGoogle DeepMind | Qwen3 Coder PlusQwen |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.65Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $3.25Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 262K | 1,000K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Gemma 4 12B | Qwen3 Coder Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Google DeepMind | Qwen |
| Family | Gemma 4 | Qwen3 Coder |
| Model | Gemma 4 12B | Qwen3 Coder Plus |
| Version | Gemma 4 12B | Qwen3 Coder Plus |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-05-23 | 2025-09-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Video, Audio | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 262K | 1,000K |
| Total parameters | 12B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Together Ai (Standard) | Alibaba Cloud Model Studio (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | agents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools |
Gemma 4 12B Capabilities
Qwen3 Coder Plus Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Gemma 4 12B vs Qwen3 Coder Plus FAQs
Is Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Gemma 4 12B and Qwen3 Coder Plus, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+
Only Qwen3 Coder Plus has a directly sourced input price: $0.65 per million tokens. Only Qwen3 Coder Plus has a directly sourced output price: $3.25 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+
Qwen3 Coder Plus has the larger sourced context window. Gemma 4 12B supports 262K and Qwen3 Coder Plus supports 1,000K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus be self-hosted?+
Gemma 4 12B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Gemma 4 12B is open weight; Qwen3 Coder Plus is not marked open weight.
Can Gemma 4 12B and Qwen3 Coder Plus understand images?+
Gemma 4 12B is documented with image input; Qwen3 Coder Plus is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Gemma 4 12B is — and Qwen3 Coder Plus is —.
Do Gemma 4 12B and Qwen3 Coder Plus support reasoning and tool use?+
Gemma 4 12B: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Qwen3 Coder Plus: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+
Gemma 4 12B has 1 sourced provider route; Qwen3 Coder Plus has 2, so Qwen3 Coder Plus has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Gemma 4 12B or Qwen3 Coder Plus?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.