DeepSeek R1 vs Gemini Deep Research Max
At a Glance
| Compare | DeepSeek R1DeepSeek | Gemini Deep Research MaxGoogle DeepMind |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.70Openrouter ↗ · Aug 28, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $2.50Openrouter ↗ · Aug 28, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 164K | 1,049K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | DeepSeek-R1 | Gemini Deep Research Max |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | DeepSeek | Google DeepMind |
| Family | Deepseek R1 | Gemini Agents |
| Model | DeepSeek-R1 | Gemini Deep Research Max |
| Version | DeepSeek-R1 | Gemini Deep Research Max |
| Lifecycle | active | preview |
| Released | 2025-01-20 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image, Video, Audio, Document |
| Output modalities | Text | Text, Image |
| Context window | 164K | 1,049K |
| Total parameters | 684.5B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | 37B | Unknown |
| License | mit | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) | Google AI (Standard), Google Gemini (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning | generation, reasoning, research, tools |
DeepSeek R1 Capabilities
Gemini Deep Research Max Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
DeepSeek R1 vs Gemini Deep Research Max FAQs
Is DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both DeepSeek R1 and Gemini Deep Research Max, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Only DeepSeek R1 has a directly sourced input price: $0.70 per million tokens. Only DeepSeek R1 has a directly sourced output price: $2.50 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Gemini Deep Research Max has the larger sourced context window. DeepSeek R1 supports 164K and Gemini Deep Research Max supports 1,049K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max be self-hosted?+
DeepSeek R1 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. DeepSeek R1 is open weight; Gemini Deep Research Max is not marked open weight.
Can DeepSeek R1 and Gemini Deep Research Max understand images?+
DeepSeek R1 is not documented with image input; Gemini Deep Research Max is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Gemini Deep Research Max has the larger sourced maximum output: DeepSeek R1 supports 33K and Gemini Deep Research Max supports 66K output tokens.
Do DeepSeek R1 and Gemini Deep Research Max support reasoning and tool use?+
DeepSeek R1: reasoning. Gemini Deep Research Max: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
DeepSeek R1 has 2 sourced provider routes; Gemini Deep Research Max has 2, a tie.
Which offers better value, DeepSeek R1 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.