Command A Reasoning vs Grok 4.5

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#25 of 4660.1 score · 3/3 sources · complete
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#15 of 44$0.063 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#11 of 3859.2 score · 3/3 sources · complete
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$2.00Xai · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$6.00Xai · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens256K500K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
BenchmarkCommand A ReasoningGrok 4.5
ToneBench2026-09-11-10-task-4ef099199c9c · overall_score · unverified62.9076% of row best · points · Cohere Command A Reasoning · 2,002 output tokens / case82.23100% of row best · points · Grok 4.5 · 2,688 output tokens / case
Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above0 benchmark winsNo overall winner0 benchmark winsNo overall winner

Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldCommand A ReasoningGrok 4.5
DeveloperCoherexAI
FamilyCommand AGrok 4
ModelCommand A ReasoningGrok 4.5
VersionCommand A ReasoningGrok 4.5
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2025-08-212026-07-16
Knowledge cutoff2024-06-01Unknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window256K500K
Total parameters111BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessCohere (Standard)Xai (Standard)
Capabilitiesagents, chat, citations, reasoning, rag, structured_outputs, toolschat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Command A Reasoning Capabilities

agentschatcitationsreasoningragstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDcoherelabs/command-a-reasoning-08-2025

Grok 4.5 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDxai/grok-4.5

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Command A Reasoning vs Grok 4.5 FAQs

Is Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Command A Reasoning and Grok 4.5, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5?+

Only Grok 4.5 has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Grok 4.5 has a directly sourced output price: $6.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5?+

Grok 4.5 has the larger sourced context window. Command A Reasoning supports 256K and Grok 4.5 supports 500K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5 be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Command A Reasoning is not marked open weight; Grok 4.5 is not marked open weight.

Can Command A Reasoning and Grok 4.5 understand images?+

Command A Reasoning is not documented with image input; Grok 4.5 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Command A Reasoning is 32K and Grok 4.5 is —.

Do Command A Reasoning and Grok 4.5 support reasoning and tool use?+

Command A Reasoning: reasoning and tool calling. Grok 4.5: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5?+

Command A Reasoning has 1 sourced provider route; Grok 4.5 has 1, a tie.

Which offers better value, Command A Reasoning or Grok 4.5?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback