Command A Reasoning vs GPT-5.4 Nano

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#42 of 4614.7 score · 3/3 sources · complete
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#14 of 44$0.058 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#37 of 3837.5 score · 3/3 sources · complete
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.20Openai · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$1.25Openai · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens256K400K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
BenchmarkCommand A ReasoningGPT-5.4 Nano
ToneBench2026-09-11-10-task-4ef099199c9c · overall_score · unverified62.9091% of row best · points · Cohere Command A Reasoning · 2,002 output tokens / case69.12100% of row best · points · GPT-5.4 nano · 3,831 output tokens / case
Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above0 benchmark winsNo overall winner0 benchmark winsNo overall winner

Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldCommand A ReasoningGPT-5.4 Nano
DeveloperCohereOpenAI
FamilyCommand AGpt 5 4
ModelCommand A ReasoningGPT-5.4 Nano
VersionCommand A ReasoningGPT-5.4 Nano
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2025-08-212026-03-17
Knowledge cutoff2024-06-012025-08-31
Input modalitiesTextText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window256K400K
Total parameters111BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessCohere (Standard)Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitiesagents, chat, citations, reasoning, rag, structured_outputs, toolschat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Command A Reasoning Capabilities

agentschatcitationsreasoningragstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDcoherelabs/command-a-reasoning-08-2025

GPT-5.4 Nano Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-5.4-nano

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Command A Reasoning vs GPT-5.4 Nano FAQs

Is Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Command A Reasoning and GPT-5.4 Nano, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano?+

Only GPT-5.4 Nano has a directly sourced input price: $0.20 per million tokens. Only GPT-5.4 Nano has a directly sourced output price: $1.25 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano?+

GPT-5.4 Nano has the larger sourced context window. Command A Reasoning supports 256K and GPT-5.4 Nano supports 400K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Command A Reasoning is not marked open weight; GPT-5.4 Nano is not marked open weight.

Can Command A Reasoning and GPT-5.4 Nano understand images?+

Command A Reasoning is not documented with image input; GPT-5.4 Nano is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano?+

GPT-5.4 Nano has the larger sourced maximum output: Command A Reasoning supports 32K and GPT-5.4 Nano supports 128K output tokens.

Do Command A Reasoning and GPT-5.4 Nano support reasoning and tool use?+

Command A Reasoning: reasoning and tool calling. GPT-5.4 Nano: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano?+

Command A Reasoning has 1 sourced provider route; GPT-5.4 Nano has 2, so GPT-5.4 Nano has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Command A Reasoning or GPT-5.4 Nano?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback